Day 32: Carl Jung’s tadpole

Ah, these good, efficient, healthy-minded people, they always remind me of those optimistic tadpoles who bask in a puddle in the sun, in the shallowest of waters, crowding together and amiably wriggling their tails, totally unaware that the next morning the puddle will have dried up and left them stranded.
– Carl Jung; Memories, dreams, reflections

am I the tadpole just basking in the puddle in the sun in the shallowest of waters not aware that it will dry up next morning and I will be left stranded. how do I know the waters I am standing is shallow. everybody stands on their own water. what is my version looking like. what is the depth. am in the situation as that of tadpole. or am I just paranoid about uncertainty. how is it possible for somebody living in 2d to understand the depth of 3d. its hard work. hard to tell whether the water is shallow and when it will dry up. it seems like things are moving fine. past has been fine. then I run into the problem of induction. making inference or prediction based on the past events only. I am assuming past resembles the future. clearly that’s not the case. so how can I tell what depth of water I am standing on. how can I separate the shallowness of the water from the non-shallow nature of it. I don’t know. I am in this journey to figure it all out.

Published by Lifelong Learner

I write one random blog everyday. My interests are scattered all over. Sometimes I love to contemplate the intersection of science and philosophy. Sometimes I go down the rabbit hole of exploring new emerging pieces of technology like blockchain, AI, Quantum Computing. Some days I just ponder over the meaning of it all. I think about knowledge creation, ideas on evolution, computation and emergence in nature.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started