How do I waste most of the time everyday

Daily writing prompt
How do you waste the most time every day?

I scroll through social media a lot for no reason. I keep refreshing the feed as if something important will go unnoticed. I know there is not anything important going. yet I spend hours and hours of my life scrolling through social media platforms. sometimes I ask myself why. what is this all for. the addiction maybe. also there is always this itch within me to see likes on the post or whatever whenever I share sth on social media. a lot of time has been wasted that way. but is it really the waste of time. maybe I am searching to fill some kind of void inside me. some kind of unsatisfied element within me. what is it. scrolling through the timeline in social media is not going to help me. I procrastinate a lot. I am not that motivated at work as well when there is some sort of sports game going on. specially football game of my favorite team. I don’t know if that’s a waste of time. but it counts as sth not being productive. I don’t know that either. how do I even define anything to be productive. all these distractions I am engaged with are leading me to show some sort of outlet for the fulfillment. what is it. that’s the question I have been looking to answer. so wasting is not all a bad thing. I just haven’t found enough use for the time that went wasted. I think it’s John lenon who said the time enjoyed is not time wasted. I enjoy watching sports. I enjoy scrolling through the social media. so maybe it’s not the waste of time. what I haven’t done is become intentional about it. I just scroll media just to ward off boredom or to faciliate whatever the procrastination I am aiming to do.

Published by Lifelong Learner

I write one random blog everyday. My interests are scattered all over. Sometimes I love to contemplate the intersection of science and philosophy. Sometimes I go down the rabbit hole of exploring new emerging pieces of technology like blockchain, AI, Quantum Computing. Some days I just ponder over the meaning of it all. I think about knowledge creation, ideas on evolution, computation and emergence in nature.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started