Day 45: spacious personality

I have frequently seen people become neurotic when they content themselves with inadequate or wrong answers to the questions of life. They seek position, marriage, reputation, outward success or money, and remain unhappy and neurotic even when they have attained what they were seeking. Such people are usually confined within too narrow a spiritual horizon. Their life has not sufficient content, sufficient meaning. If they are enabled to develop into more spacious personalities, the neurosis generally disappears. For that reason the idea of development was always of the highest importance to me.
– Carl Jung (Dreams, memories, reflection)

what is the neurosis in me. I have a small family with my wife and a daughter. I do pretty good above median in terms of finances. I am not a fan of the job I am doing to pay my bills though. But I get a lot of free time. The bill paying job is quite easy and faster to be done for the day. what do I do in my free time. is there any void I want to fill. I check social media hours and hours . but then sth interesting comes up. I jump into the rabbit hole. what is the void I am attempting to fill here. I read Nietzsche and listened to the lectures on Nietzsche by Geuss at least 3 times. I am fond of him. I don’t know what it is. there is sth about Nietzsche’s writings that seem to give away the bold truths of living and existence. I am traversing there most of the time. but I get distracted and read sci-fi that has to mind in the recent times. there’s art to be watched as well. after family time is spent mostly on reading and writing and watching shows and sports. what is this all for. I ask this question a lot. but lately this question seems to have lost the strength to capture my attention. I don’t get hung up on like I used to. I guess a quiet satisfaction of having a nice family brews in me. but again I am in this journey to discover what is my self aiming at. it is a continuous process. a process of developing spacious personality as Jung pointed out.

Published by Lifelong Learner

I write one random blog everyday. My interests are scattered all over. Sometimes I love to contemplate the intersection of science and philosophy. Sometimes I go down the rabbit hole of exploring new emerging pieces of technology like blockchain, AI, Quantum Computing. Some days I just ponder over the meaning of it all. I think about knowledge creation, ideas on evolution, computation and emergence in nature.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started